Board Representatives

Dean, faculty and student representatives to Syracuse University's Board of Trustees provide an important link to the University's faculty and student bodies.

Dean Representative

Joanna O. Masingila
Joanna O. Masingila
Masingila, who was named a Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence in 2003, has been at Syracuse University since finishing a Ph.D. in mathematics education at Indiana University-Bloomington in 1992. Prior to her doctoral work, she taught secondary mathematics for six years.
Read more about Joanna O. Masingila

Faculty Representative

Duncan Brown Duncan A. Brown
A world-renowned expert in gravitational-wave astronomy and astrophysics, Brown has been a faculty member at Syracuse University since 2007. Brown played a leading role in the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO)’s historic detections of gravitational waves. Brown is an authority on finding gravitational waves with LIGO and then extracting the physics from these observations.
Read more about Duncan A. Brown

Graduate Student Representative

Jack H. Wilson Jack H. Wilson
Jack Wilson is in the Cognition, Brain, and Behavior Program of the Department of Psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences. Wilson works in Professor and Department Chair Amy Criss’ Memory Modeling Lab, studying where and how errors occur when trying to recall past events.
Read more about Jack H. Wilson

Undergraduate Student Representatives

Emma Peca Emma Peca
Emma Peca is a sophomore majoring in Political Science and minoring in Asian American Studies and Disability Studies. She has been an active member of the College Democrats since her freshman year, and currently serves as the Communications Director. She also serves on the Board of Trustees Student Affairs Committee.
Read more about Emma Peca

Ghufran Salih Ghufran Salih
Ghufran Salih is a junior studying information management and technology in the School of Information Studies. Salih, who is from Chicago, serves as the president of the Student Association for the 2018-19 academic year. She also serves on the Board of Trustees Student Affairs Committee.
Read more about Ghufran Salih