The Chair and Vice Chairs are elected from the full Board at the annual May meeting and hold office for one four-year term. The Chair is responsible for presiding over all Board meetings and serving as Chair of the Executive Committee. Vice Chairs, selected according to their seniority of membership, perform the duties of the Chair in his or her absence or disability.

The University Secretary gives official notice of all full Board, Committee and Special meetings and is responsible for recording and maintaining documentation of all Board actions. The University Secretary is also the custodian of the Charter, Bylaws, and the Seal of the University.

Officers of the Board of Trustees include:

Kathleen A. Walterss Kathleen A. Walters, Chair
Kathleen A. Walters is a retired senior executive with extensive operating experience in the consumer products and paper industry, both domestically and internationally.  Most recently, she was the executive vice president and group president of Georgia-Pacific, leading the consumer products group.
Read more about Kathleen A. Walters
Steven Barnes Steven W. Barnes, Chairman Emeritus
Steven W. Barnes is managing director at Bain Capital, LLC ('Bain'), he has been affiliated with Bain since 1988 and serves as the Chairman of Global Private Equity for the Americas.
Read more about Steven W. Barnes
Steven W. Ballentine Steven W. Ballentine, Vice Chair
Steven W. Ballentine is president and CEO of Ballentine Capital Management Inc., an investment management firm he founded in 1989. Ballentine has been a portfolio manager and analyst for more than 35 years. He started his investment career with the Prudential Life Insurance Co. of America in 1983 as an equity analyst and portfolio manager.
Read more about Steven W. Ballentine
Patricia H. Mautino Patricia H. Mautino, Vice Chair
Patricia Hallock Mautino's career in education administration (K-12), also including a broad range of professional and volunteer associations in library and information services, started in 1966 when she became a librarian for Onondaga Community College after earning her MLS.
Read more about Patricia H. Mautino
Edward J. Pettinella Edward J. Pettinella, Vice Chair
Edward J. Pettinella is the former president, CEO and director of Home Properties, Inc., a large apartment REIT traded on the NYSE. The REIT acquired, developed and operated apartment communities in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic markets. Home Properties was recently purchased by Lone Star Funds
Read more about Edward J. Pettinella
Michael G. Thonis

Michael G. Thonis, Vice Chair
Michael Thonis is co-founder and senior advisor of Charlesbank Capital Partners. Prior to co-founding Charlesbank, a private equity firm, Thonis was a managing director at Harvard Private Capital, the firm's predecessor.
Read more about Michael G. Thonis

Lisa Dolak

Lisa A. Dolak, Senior Vice President and University Secretary
Lisa A. Dolak is Senior Vice President and University Secretary at Syracuse University, and the Angela S. Cooney Professor of Law at the Syracuse University College of Law.
Read more about Lisa A. Dolak